Home

Spectrum Sound and broadcast

October 9, 2010

I began this academic year with the intention of doing as much live work as I could find. The aim was to construct a portfolio of work that went beyond that of an ordinary student work program, finding as many clients as I could that could help get my name out there as a professional graphic designer. I began looking on sites like freelancer.com and gumtree.com to find clients that required some kind of digital artwork.
My search lead to a business looking for a logo design for their online audio equipment store. I approached him with an email and after looking at my already substantial portfolio, he decided I would be good for the job. I was given very few specifications, just that it needed to look professional and include the word ‘spectrum’. It needed to be aimed at the male audience and fit in to the desired industry alongside some of their main competitors such as Maplin and Purewells. I sketched furiously and researched the demographic looking at colour, shape, connotations derived from his competitors branding and other key factors that would help produce something that worked. I created around ten different options for my client to peruse and see if anything hit his requirements, fortunately one stood out to him and he decided to go with it after a few minor alterations.

This is the result;

Spectrum logo

I asked the client if a full branding document was required along with business card design and letterheads but this wasn’t needed yet but was told that my excellent design was perfect and would more than likely lead to further work in the future. Here is a client testimonial;

“I had been after a graphic designer, to create a new logo for my company for some time, though none could really put what I needed onto paper to meet my needs or tastes. From the outset design brief I knew I was in good hands with Ben. After a quick chat about the company, he created a logo which fitted nicely with our client base and with a great turnaround time. Ben turns thoughts into vision – Needless to say we are very happy with the results and will be using him again in the future.”

– Pete James, Spectrum Sound and Broadcast

Leave a Reply

