Home

Final Major Project

May 5, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here are some images of the “Unconscious Communication” box set. As you can see, the box set consists of three folders, each containing detailed booklets explaining how we are susceptible to external influences. The additional inserts contained in the folder are based on tried and tested experiments that you can use to alter the moods and behaviour of those around you. The journey I have taken to get to this point as taught me an incredible amount about psychological behaviour, and how as a designer, you can effectively control minds with your work.

The inspiration for this project came from my fascination with Derren Brown. I set out to further my understanding of his practices, researching his influences to see if I could use psychology to make my work far more effective and powerful. When it came to putting this research to use, I had several directions I could take to produce an actual realised outcome. One idea I had was to create a package that could be given to volunteers that wanted to help ‘Big Issue’ seller, by teaching them to use priming to make people more open to the idea of being generous, thus boosting sales of the magazine. Another idea was to produce a magazine called ‘CTRL-ALTER’, which featured all the research I had collected. After tutor feedback, I steered away from these and finally settled on producing a box set that could teach people useful techniques to help improve relationships and encourage positive behaviour from those around them.

There hasn’t really been any issues with this project as it has gone really well from start to finish. The research process was captivating, the development and experimentation was great fun, and the construction of the box set has been a fairly smooth process. The end result is something that hits the self written brief, and does it in an interesting way that should hopefully intrigue those that interact with it. The knowledge that I have taken away from this will be of great benefit to me in my career, and hopefully something that I can integrate into projects in the future.

Leave a comment